top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurisalafait

DIY make up remover pads

Dernière mise à jour : 26 mai 2020


How to make them? What size? What fabric ? I didn't know what fabric I should use. I wanted one side with cotton and a soft side on the other side. I wanted a rectangle I chose 4,5 in x 3,5 size. I also made somewhere ones. Then I had to choose my fabric. Remember before you start wash your fabric, it shrinks a little!! What fabric should you use? Soft fabric side


Micro bambou sponge monoface fabric : It's really soft and feels nice when removing makeup from your eye lids. It's the fabric I prefer. the problem is, its not ecofriendly. I tried to buy some in and organic shop online and found out, the way it is produced isn't good for the environment so I won't buy any more...

Micro tencel sponge monoface fabric: It's almost as soft as micro bamboo sponge, the fabric I have is a bit thinner. According to the information I was able to find on the web, its pruduction is eco friendly.

Cotton sponge: it feels like a towel, it can be useful when you want to wash you face,  it's ok, but it's not my favorite, I use it sometimes.

Fleece or flannel: that's the next fabric I'll try. It's possible to find some eco friendly fabric. Have you tried it ?


Cotton fabric side

Oeko tex certified cotton: is a good choice for the other side of the pad, since you will be using it every day it's a good idea to choose a fabric with no harmful substances or gots certified. 

What size and shape?Washing instructions

I chose a rectangle for most of my pads. It's easy to sew and it's the perfect size for removing makeup or for making pads for babies. Dimensions: 3,5 x 3,5 in

Square: quick and easy to sew, I use them to remove makeup from my eyes. 

Dimensions: 4,5 x 3,5 in A circle: I find it quite long to sew a circle with my sewing machine. I just used a coaster to draw circle on fabric. Just put right sides out and sew around them.

I liked the Idea of Alice using different colors of ribbon to make the difference between fabrics. https://pin.it/u53mkfydt6oztc I made a few pads following her instructions, I prefer having two different fabrics on my pads.9

Washing instructions : 

You can wash them upto 60°C with your laundry. If you have too much makeup on them, rub them with soap and then put them in your washing machine.

That's it! So download my tutorial at the bottom of the page and make your own pads! 

Have you made some? What shape?  What fabric did you use? Et vous? qu'est ce que vous préférez? Vous avez déjà vos lingettes? elles sont comment? download my tutorial here


8 vues
bottom of page